The AutoSave function is a great idea!!
Just not in practice...
In my business we re-use the same invoices made in excel for the same jobs, however save them as a new file each time in order to keep a record of the previous invoice.
The new AutoSave feature is extremely dangerous in this regard.
If I, or someone else, does not remember to turn off AutoSave, or save as a new file BEFORE making new changes, we LOSE our previous invoice.
Have options for AutoSave, the most important one being, DEFAULT OFF rather than default on.151 votes
Thank you all for your feedback regarding the new AutoSave functionality in Excel.
We’ve been working to better enable collaboration and AutoSave is a key component that. While it can take some getting used to, AutoSave helps users feel confident that their work is being saved. This is especially evident when working with other people, but it also helps when you’re working by yourself.
We understand that you may need to turn off AutoSave for some workflows, so we are excited to announce that it is now possible to turn off AutoSave for a particular file as well as to change whether AutoSave is or or not by default.
For instructions on how to do this please see here: https://support.office.com/en-gb/article/what-is-autosave-6d6bd723-ebfd-4e40-b5f6-ae6e8088f7a5#OfficeVersion=Windows
This functionality is currently available to O365 subscribers.
We hope you continue to leave feedback on Excel to help us improve.
Excel Program Manager
STOP turning the AutoSave back on! AutoSave falsely represents users as updating the file AND creates unnecessary versions. Users turn it off and after Microsoft updates are pushed into the environment - it comes back on. Bad idea!11 votes
Changes to AutoSave settings should not change on update. This issue was raised when the changes to AutoSave were made. This should no longer be a problem. If you experience further issues go to File > Feedback and send us more information.
In Word and PowerPoint you can collaborate from the desktop as well as online. In excel, whenever anyone opens the document on desktop others get locked out of editing and can only view. This is a problem for our organisation since occasionally remote team members need to edit the file on desktop but failure to close down the document properly (either accidentally or because the OS somehow did not release the file lock which has happened on Mac's) means the entire team is suddenly unable to work for extended periods until we track down the culprit.287 votes
Collaborating in Excel has been available for current channel users, starting with version 1707 and version 1808 for Semi-Annual users
Note: This feature is only available if you have an Office 365 subscription
If you are an Office 365 subscriber, make sure you have the latest version of Office.
- Don't see your idea?