No more warnings about saving as CSV, especially when I didn't change anything
I don't know how many hundreds (thousands?) of times I've told Excel that, yes, I really truly do mean to save this file as a CSV. I recognize that not all users will understand that CSV doesn't do cool formulas or formatting, etc., but I do and I still want to do it. And I want to do it a lot. Please, give me a way to opt out of these useless warnings!
We’re done – you should no longer get a warning dialog about data loss when saving a file as CSV, as long as the file was originally opened as a CSV file.
Instead, we’ve added a non-intrusive business bar (that you can ignore if you choose) that let’s you quickly Save As the file if you have made changes that are not savable in CSV; if you ignore it and just Save, we’ll just save out the CSV values as you’d expect.
We actually rolled this out starting on August 13, 2016 with build 16.0.7167.2040 for O365 users. Later builds have this update as well of course.
Thanks for participating in UserVoice – we definitely value your input. You can now use whatever votes you’d allocated for this idea for other ideas.
= started status 2016-06-15 =
Great news – we’re working on this (for both Windows and Mac Excel)
Thanks for the suggestion Tom, and thanks to folks for voting! We’re listening to you all, and we’ll get someone to take a look at the flow here. We’ll loop back and update the status appropriately.
John [MS XL]
This is one of the dumbest "fixes" I have ever seen. I can't believe behaviour that has existed for so long is taken away with little/no warning. Luckily I had backups of the files that were just destroyed by this "fix".
Ben Layet commented
Yup, lost work due to this change.... not a good idea...
This is incredible. I just learn about this "terrific new feature" as I have just lost more than one week worth of work because I thought I was in .xls, constantly saving my modification without getting the usual warning, what other formats could it be?
I literally want to cry over so much stupidity. Do people in Microsoft actually use Excel?
This was so obviously wrong that they should reimburse our subscription to cover for this mistake.
You want to know what is a good feature Microsoft, just always save everything someone does, whatever the files format is. If it is on the screen, it should never be allowed to not be saved somewhere for recovery. Do you think people will do hours of work and not want it back? You should only allow to delete or lose data when the user is actively deleting them.
I think this is my last project using excel, I will do all my computation in R from now on. Scripts save everything you do and it is much easier to re-modify calculations afterward.
Please bring back the warning pop up!! I have lost hours of work by not realising the file I was working in was a .csv. Give people the choice to opt out of the warning rather than enforcing this change on us all!!
The logic of this change is reversed to what it should have been. The prompt on saving the file is much preferable to the warning banner (that you have to enable anyway). I wish Microsoft would think before making some changes
Please fix this. Give me the option to not show warning again in the future. Even when you choose 'export to .csv' it thinks you might be making a mistake. Yes, I know what I am doing. I cannot think of a situation in which I would mistakenly do this. Plus it saves as a different file type so there is no concern
Can you please bring the warning back or at least the option to opt-in? I've lost hours of work because this feature was removed. This is very frustrating.
Removing this warning was not a good idea. Even with the business bar notification up, there is nothing to stop you from doing 30min of formatting on an export, clicking save and believing that it actually saved.... Not good, not good at all.
yes it is a joke!!!
How ridiculous and stupid of Microsoft to remove the warning instead of adding a checkbox to the csv warning dialogue that allows an individual user to choose whether they want the warning or not. For most of us, dealing with numerous open workbooks its easy to forget the file types we are working with. I lost 4 hours worth of formula work because of no warning when I saved the csv workbook. Please, bring back the warning in a smart way and allow users to decide for themselves what is best practise instead if deciding for them. How MS'ish
OOH, I just had an idea! Why don't you also take away the warning that you're closing the workbook without saving! It's just so annoying that every time I want to close a worksheet or workbook, it asks me if I want to save it, even if all I did was accidentally put a space in a blank cell. If you take away the warning altogether - maybe put an 'unobtrusive' bar at the top, then no one would get that annoying 'do you want to save' message!
Yeah. This is what you did to us already. Why not drive the final nail in our collective coffins.
I, and other coworkers, have lost hours and hours of work because of this stupid feature. Why not just have a checkbox for the popup saying "check this box if you don't want to see this warning again'? Because that would have been way smarter than taking away something that was merely a nuisance to people. It's just inconsiderate to do something that causes people more work. Especially if they didn't know about the change because their company auto-updates Office.
I hate this. I constantly have to redo work and have lost all detail when pivot tables were added on another tab. It saves without any warning at all. You have to remember that you opened it as .csv an hour or more ago.
Absolutely stupid idea to remove the warning.
Your "non-intrusive business bar" disappears forever with one click, causing who knows how many people to lose hours of work. Saving a CSV gives no warning (not even a non-modal dialogue like the first business bar) that the only place your CSV-incompatible work will ever exist is your RAM and closing Excel will, unceremoniously, permanently delete it.
Good job, MS.
just happened to me 6 hours gone. why are there no warnings for this? why does it let you save your work only to not save anything?
It seems I've missed something, because I still get this horrible and stupid pop-up.
Not having a warning is crazy. I've just lost a weeks worth of work as I was working in CSV format, happily creating new sheets without realising it would not be saved. When I re-open my file, voila all my work has gone. Excellent idea, not having a warning.
This checkbox is disabled for me in file>options>save but I still get the message every time I save. If i check it, and go back into options, it stays unchecked.
What a rubbish update!